Back in 1953, The Woolston Working Men’s Club was first proposed at a community meeting in Woolston, and the first committee members were elected.
22nd December 1956 saw the official opening of the original Club building, known as “Ward 8” (now known as the Kellaway Bar) The Mayor of Christchurch, Mr R.M. McFarlane CMGM, cut the ribbon!
In 1974 the Courtyard Bar & Restaurant was opened (now known as the Whitford’s Bar)
Now more than sixty years on, the Club stands on 18 acres of award winning landscaped gardens and sport grounds. The Club is not only home to its strong membership but also boasts a proud history in the eastern suburbs as a sporting and community leisure centre.