Welcome to the Woolston Club
The Woolston Club (formerly The Woolston Working Men’s Club Inc), early history started in May 1953 when the first community meeting was held to discuss the beginnings of the Club and the very first Committee members were elected.
22nd December 1956 saw the official opening of the original Club building, known as “Ward 8”, by Mr R.M. McFarlane CMGM, Mayor of Christchurch, (which is now known as The Kellaway Bar).
In 1974 the Courtyard Bar & Restaurant were opened.
Now more than sixty years on, the Club stands on 18 acres of award winning landscaped gardens and sport grounds. The Club is not only home to its strong membership but also boasts a proud history in the eastern suburbs as a sporting and community leisure centre.
The main Club Facility houses five diverse bars and eight separate function spaces. The Woolston Club is able to cater for a wide range of functions from small meetings or gatherings to large formal seated dinners of up to four hundred.
In 2015 the Courtard & Hatrix Restaurant underwent a renovation and was also renamed to Whitford's Restaurant, Bar & Cafe, after James Whitford who was a founding member and Club President.
Whitford's Restaurant is the perfect place for a family get together or dinner with friends. With great value for money and its bright friendly service, which offers a variety of hearty food and is renowned for its signature roasts, fine cuts from the grill and tasty sweet treats for dessert..
Woolston Club extends to its members, guests and affiliate members a warm friendly, family orientated environment... READ MORE